Spoiler Free Review of Everything Everything By: Nicola Yoon

*** If you have already read this book, and want to read a more in depth spoilery discussion of both the book and the movie adaptation, click here! ***

Find this book on Goodreads here.

 

Genre: YA Contemporary

Rating: 3.5/5 doughnuts


Synopsis: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

 

Writing Style: The way that Nicola Yoon wrote this book is one of my favorite aspects of the story. A lot of the time it feels like we’re reading Maddy’s journal rather than just her telling her story. The book is made up of other things such as Maddy’s drawings, emails and IMs, book reviews, and notebook entries.

 

Plot: I enjoyed a majority of the plot points in this story. The book was a quick and easy read, but for the most part I didn’t feel that there was too much lacking.

 

Characters: I love Maddy and I related to her in a lot of ways. Olly was everything and I honestly wish that there was more of him. Typically I don’t like when stories are retold in another person’s perspective, but if Nicola were to write this story over in Olly’s perspective, I would absolutely be here for it.

 

Overall Thoughts: I really enjoyed this story. There were definitely some problematic aspects to this story and I wasn’t a fan of how It ended, but overall I enjoyed the plot and the characters in this story.

 

Thanks for taking the time out to read my review! We’d love to know your opinions on this book! Feel free to share and sound off in the comments!

                 Dawlyn

2 thoughts on “Spoiler Free Review of Everything Everything By: Nicola Yoon

Add yours

  1. I don’t plan to read this one because I already know how it ends (not that it bothers me too much, I wasn’t too keen on reading it anyway) and I think I’d be pretty mad to find out the major twist after being so invested in the story and characters… So I can understand how some people felt.
    Not my cup of tea but I really enjoyed your review 🙂 Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

