Spoiler Free Review of The Sun is Also a Star By: Nicola Yoon

*** If you have already read this book and want to read a more in depth discussion click here ***

Find this book on Goodreads

Genre: YA Contemporary

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

Goodreads Summary:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 

My thoughts:

The Sun is Also a Star is Nicola Yoon’s second novel. Her first novel, Everythin  Everything, I really enjoyed but thought had some problematic aspects (check out our spoiler free and spoilery book/adaptation discussion). I had been hearing that many people enjoyed The Sun is Also a Star more than Everything Everything, so I went into this book with high hopes. Nicola Yoon did not disappoint! The story was so beautiful, relatable, eye-opening, creative, and just all around amazing!

One  thing I truly love about Nicola Yoon’s stories is that you get to know her characters so well. I felt this way about Maddy in Everything Everything, and I certainly feel this way about Natasha and Daniel. Natasha and Daniel are both so different, but at the same time have a lot in common. I really enjoyed getting to know them and seeing how they fit into each other’s worlds. We get from the synopsis that there is a bit of insta-love in this book. However, this story takes place over the course of one day so it just seemed to work.

Nicola Yoon also did a great job incorporating other people’s perspectives into this book. As we get to see Natasha and Daniel’s story, we also get a glimpse into the lives of some people they interact with throughout the day. This was done so well, and added so much to the story. I also love the diversity in this book! The Sun is Also a Star has a very diverse cast, and discusses important topics that you typically do not see a lot in YA.

Overall, this was a very cute contemporary that also dealt with some pretty serious issues. This book took me on an emotional roller coaster! It made me think about love, life, and fate. I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a great, diverse read!!

Thanks for taking the time out to read my review! We’d love to know your opinions on this book! Feel free to share and sound off in the comments!

Krista

 

11 thoughts on “Spoiler Free Review of The Sun is Also a Star By: Nicola Yoon

Add yours

  1. I haven’t read this book yet but was lucky enough to meet Nicola Yoon last November for the release. She is such an amazing person! One of my favorite authors I’ve met!

    I also love your setup! It’s the same as mine so it was fun scrolling through and seeing what mine will look like! I still have so much to do!

    I also nominated you for The Unique Blogger Award!! https://thecleverreader.wordpress.com/2017/06/17/the-unique-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg that is so cool that you met Nicola Yoon 😍😍 we would love to meet her! She is such a beautiful human!!!! You should definitely read The Sun is Also a Star and let us know what you think.

      Thank you so much for the blog love!! We really like your blog so far, and will definitely keep up with it 😆 and thank you so much for the nomination!!! We are really excited to answer your questions, and nominate others.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She even asked us if we could get a photo with her on her phone! She is seriously the sweetest! I want to read that one this year for sure! I’ve only heard great things about it! I will definitely let you know what I think of it after I read it!

        Thank you for loving my blog! It’s been fun setting it all up. I can’t wait to see more of your posts too!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

