June Wrap-Up

Hey bookworms! Welcome to our June Wrap-Up! Between the two of us, we’ve read 4 books this month! Let’s get started!

 

Dawlyn

The Lightening Thief

The Lightning Thief By Rick Riordan

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

I’ve been putting off reading this series since middle school and I’m so glad that I finally got around to starting it! I loved it and I can’t wait to continue on with the series! I always loved learning about Greek mythology in school and I love how Rick Riordan so seamlessly combines the modern world with a mythological word, in such a relatable way. Percy is a great character! He’s funny and I feel like had I read these books in middle school, I would have definitely been able to relate to him. I feel that I would have appreciated this story much more when I was younger, but even reading it as an adult, I really enjoyed it!! This is such a great middle grades story and I’m excited to see how the series continues, and to eventually read Rick Riordan’s other series.

I've Got Your Number

I’ve Got Your Number By: Sophie Kinsella

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

Wow wow wow. This is my first Sophie Kinsella read and she’s got me hooked. Knowing what I did about this book going into it, I wasn’t entirely comfortable with how I expected the plot to go. Boy, was I in for a surprise! It ended up being nothing like I expected. The MCs were funny and charming, and I loved how the story played out! I’m definitely excited to pick up another Sophie Kinsella book!

 

 

Krista

This was a slow reading month for me. I was in a bit of a reading slump after reading Fangirl By: Rainbow Rowell, and summer classes have been requiring a lot of my time. However, I read 2 amazing books this month and I cannot wait to tell you about them, so let’s get into it!

We Were Liars

We Were Liars By: E Lockhart

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

I really enjoyed this book! It had so much mystery, and I spent the majority of the story feeling pretty confused. I enjoyed trying to figure out what was happening. Dawlyn had already read this book, so I kept texting her, guessing at what the heck was going on. I never got it right, and the ending completely surprised me! This book definitely gave me the feels, I cried a few times!

The Book Thief

The Book Theif By: Markus Zusak

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

Oh my gosh this book!!!! This is my new favorite book of all time!! I collapsed into my boyfriend’s arms sobbing towards the end of this book, then proceeded to cry myself to sleep upon finishing it. I’m not trying to scare you from reading this book if you haven’t, please do yourself a favor and read it! It’s worth the heartache! It’s a beautiful piece of art, and I am so happy to have experienced it! Markus Zusak, you are a beautiful human! I will be doing a spoilery discussion of this The Book Thief soon, so if you have read it, be on the lookout! We can discuss all the things that made our hearts happy and hurt!

Both of the books I read this month were emotional reads for me! Though I wholeheartedly enjoyed them, I am definitely ready to read some cute, summer-y, contemporaries in July!

 

***Check out what we plan to read in July here, as well as what we may read this summer, here!***

 

Thanks for taking the time out to read our post! We’d love to know if you’ve read any of these books and how you liked them! We’d also love to hear what you read in June! Sound off in the comments!

D&K

17 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

