Spoiler Free Review of The Book Thief By: Markus Zusack

***If you have already read this book and want to read our Spoilery Discussion, click here***

Find this book on Goodreads here.

BT Quote

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction

Rating: 5/5 doughnuts

f6272-52bdoughnuts

Synopsis:. It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . . -Goodreads

 

Plot and Writing: This story has an amazingly captivating plot that spans over many years. There are so many different events that take place in the story and yet it never felt overwhelming. Zusack’s writing style is so unique and the way he wrote in the perspective of death is so different than anything I’ve read before. I think that this perspective is what makes the story so haunting and impactful, and couldn’t imagine it being written any other way.

 

Characters: I love every main character in this story! They all had their own unique way of tugging at my heartstrings. Death being personified was so impactful to me because death is usually described as evil and heartless. In this story however death is given a soul of his own and his job takes an emotional toll on him. Liesel is the little girl who’s story death is telling and his connection with her is what, I think, makes the story come alive the most. I think that all of the characters are a great representation of the different people who lived during the time of Nazi, Germany. All of their stories are significant and impactful.

 

Overall Thoughts: This book is absolutely fantastic! I started it back in high school but I never got the chance to finish it. I’m so glad that I finally picked it up again and finished it! It’s tied with The Diary of Anne Frank and To Kill a Mockingbird as my favorite books of all time. I’ve always loved historical fiction and this book was an amazing reintroduction to a genre that, though it’s my favorite, I haven’t picked up in a while. This book, like most in historical fiction, is pretty heavy and I’ve never cried so much at a book in my life.That being said, there are so many amazing aspects of this book and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone and everyone!

 

Thanks for taking the time out to read my review! We’d love to know if you’ve read this book and  your opinions on it! Feel free to share and sound off in the comments!

Dawlyn

4 thoughts on “Spoiler Free Review of The Book Thief By: Markus Zusack

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

