Spoiler Free Review of The Lightning Thief By: Rick Riordan

 

Find this book on Goodreads here.

 

Genre: Middle Grades, Fantasy

 

Rating: 5/5 doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

Goodreads Synopsis: Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

 

Plot: This story has such a unique plotline! RIck Riordan does such a great job of integrating the modern world with the mythological world. I love how this story takes place over the course of a journey. There was never a dull moment and even though it isn’t always fast paced and action packed, I never felt that the story dragged either. I really enjoyed how the book ended because there wasn’t a cliffhanger, but it still felt like the story could easily continue. I’m excited to see how the rest of the stories play out and hope to pick up the next one soon!

 

Characters: I feel like a majority of the characters in this book played a significant role in moving the story forward. I really enjoyed Riordan’s modern interpretation of different characters in Greek Mythology and I’m excited to see that continue throughout the series. Like the story in general, I think that I would have appreciated Percy Jackson’s character more when I was younger, but I still really like him and feel that his experiences in the beginning of the book could definitely be relatable to children his age.

 

Overall Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book and I’m excited to continue on with the series! Like I mentioned earlier, I think that I definitely would have appreciated this story more when I was younger, but even as an adult I loved it! Rick Riordan does a great job of writing from the perspective of a middle grades child. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys middle grades stories!

 

Thanks for taking the time out to read my review! We’d love to know if you’ve read this book and  your opinions on it! Feel free to share and sound off in the comments!

Dawlyn

26 thoughts on “Spoiler Free Review of The Lightning Thief By: Rick Riordan

Add yours

  1. This is still one of my favorite book series! I wish I had kept up on the rest of his books as they came out. I feel overwhelmed now that it’s been about 6 years since I read this book series, it’d take me so long to catch up. Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read these books a little while back, like.. all five of them in a week? They read so fluently! And they’re just awesome.
    But, like you say in your review, Percy just feels a bit childish at times – and that’s simply because we aren’t the “younger” public that’s targeted with these books, haha.
    It does get better in the other books, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I first discovered this book in either 2006 or 2007 when I was just browsing the stacks at the library. As someone who loves books featuring mythology, I decided to give it a try. Mind you, I was 18 or 19 at the time. I have become a huge Rick Riordan fan ever since. I am now almost 29 years old and I eagerly anticipate each release. I love Riordan’s writing and how he handles characters and diversity and mythology and adventure. They are just wonderful books to read and it doesn’t matter if you’re 10 or 30 or even 50, you’ll find something to enjoy with these books.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Last year I totally binge read all of Percy Jackson and all of the Heroes of Olympus. It took me…maybe 2 weeks. They are such fast reads for me.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE the Lightning Thief! I definitely agree, they are better for younger readers, but as an adult I still love them. The original Percy Jackson series will always be my favorite. I hope you keep reading! The second book is just as good, maybe better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

