The Sunshine Blogger Award

Hey Bookworms! We are so honored to have been nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award! Thanks so much to Flavia @TheBibliophile, Katie @NeverNotReading, and Elise @RoamingReader, Jenna @BookmarkYourThoughts and Melanie @MNBernardBooks for the nomination! Their blogs are awesome and definitely deserving of the nomination itself, so be sure to go and check them out! Let’s get started!

 

THE RULES

1.) Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.

2.) Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.

3.) Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.

4.) List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

 

Flavia’s Questions

-What are you reading right now?

Krista: I am currently reading A Court of Thorns and Roses By: Sarah J. Mass and Illuminae By: Amy Kaufman.

Dawlyn: Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes.

 

-What was your favourite read from 2016?

Krista: I actually did not read much at all in 2016, but my favorite out of the ones I did read was The Haunted By: J.A. Templeton. This is the second book in the Mackinnon Curse series.

Dawlyn: I also didn’t read very much in 2016 but I read If I Stay by: Gayle Forman and I really liked it.

  1. What is your favourite read of 2017 so far?

Krista: The Book Thief By: Markus Zusak

Dawlyn: The Hate U Give By Angie Thomas

 

-Do you read more than one book at once? Why? Why not?

Krista: I do tend to read more than one book at once because I prefer to read the physical copies of books, but that is not always convenient. So I am often reading one physical book, and one ebook or audiobook at the same time.

Dawlyn: I’m usually reading more than one book. Usually one physical book and one audiobook.

 

-Do you enjoy reading classics?

Krista: I do enjoy reading classics, although I do not read them as often as I would like to.

Dawlyn: Yees and I have so many on my TBR!

 

-What is your ideal reading spot?

Krista: My bed honestly.

Dawlyn: Bed!!

-Do you read when you travel?

Krista: I cannot read in moving vehicles because I get nauseous, but I will listen to an audio book. And I always bring a physical book with me when traveling to read when I can.

Dawlyn: When I’m traveling for vacation I don’t usually read both because I also get nauseous in moving vehicles and because there usually isn’t time. Now that I’ve been reading more audiobooks I’ve been reading more during daily travel.

 

-How many books do you read in a month (approximately)?

Krista: It really depends on the month, but on average I’d say 3-5.

Dawly: Same as Krista! It depends on the month and how busy I am but my average is also about 3-5 a month.

 

-How many books do you read in a year (approximately)?

Krista: This is the first year I am participating in a reading challenge where I actually keep up with how many books I’m reading. My goal is to read at least 52 books this year.

Dawlyn: I haven’t kept track of how many books I’ve read in the past but when I was younger I probably read anywhere between 50 and 100 books in a year. This year my goal is 52.

 

-What is your favourite genre? Why?

Krista: I love a lot of different genres, but I tend to read the most YA contemporaries.

Dawlyn: Though I mostly read YA contemporary and YA scifi/fantasy/dystopian, my favorite is actually historical fiction! I love the genre because it combines my two favorite subjects: history and literature!

 

-Do you read more during a particular season than other seasons?

Krista: I tend to read more when there are breaks from school, so spring and winter I would say I read the most.

Dawlyn: Same as Krista! I read more during breaks! I usually binge read during those times!

 

Katie’s Questions

-If you had to pick one favorite book, which would you choose?

Dawlyn: I have three that tie but I’ll go with  The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank because it was my favorite before the other two.

Krista: The Book Thief By: Markus Zusak!

 

-Coffee or tea?

Dawlyn: I don’t really like either, but I’ll drink fancy coffee drinks in every once in awhile.

Krista: Both! But I prefer tea!

 

-Other than reading, what is something you enjoy spending a lot of time doing?

Dawlyn: Binging TV shows

Krista: Painting

 

-What holiday do you enjoy the most?

Dawlyn: Christmas! It always feels like a season rather than a holiday!

Krista: Definitely Christmas! It’s so pretty and magical!

 

-If you were royalty, which superhero would you want as your personal body guard?

Dawlyn: Wonder Woman!

Krista: Yes! Definitely Wonder Woman!

 

-Favorite candy/sweet?

Dawlyn: My favorite sweet is Oreos!

Krista: My favorite candies are Lemonheads, and if I had to choose a favorite sweet it would be between macarons and rainbow cookies!!

 

-What animal should I google pictures of to get the most squeals?

Dawly: I feel like puppies are too obvious so I’ll go with teacup pigs!

Krista: My personal favorites are manatees and sloths!!

 

-Which subject did you enjoy the most in school?

Dawlyn: LIterature and History

Krista: Same!

 

-If you could take any vacation, where would you go?

Dawlyn: HARRY FREAKING POTTER WORLD!

Krista: Italy!!!!

 

-What kind of vehicle do you drive/ride?

Dawlyn: I can’t drive so I mostly ride the train.

Krista: Same!!

 

-Who in your life makes you laugh the most?

Dawlyn: I probably laugh the most with my friends but if I had to pick one person it would be my little sister. She’s such a clown.

Krista: My boyfriend Alvin makes me laugh every single day!

 

 

Elise’s Questions

-WHAT HOGWARTS HOUSE ARE YOU IN?! (yes, that all caps was necessary)

Dawlyn: Hufflepuff!

Krista: Hufflepuff!

 

-Do you have any favorite Brotps? (An OTP but between friends. No romantic feelings)

Dawlyn: Hmmm Probably Harry Potter and Hermione Granger!

Krista: Etienne, Cricket, and Josh from the Anna and the French Kiss books By: Stephanie Perkins!

 

-(DO YOU LIKE TALKING IN PARENTHESIS AS MUCH AS I DO?) (I’m sorry that was a stupid question… Better question is… What are you currently reading? Answer whichever of those you wish)

Dawlyn and Krista: See question number one under Flavia’s questions.

 

-If you had a pet dragon what would you do with it?

Dawlyn: Take it shopping!

Krista: Fly!!!

 

-How do you deal with obnoxiously long TBRs? (Or are you one of those wizards without a 100+ book long TBR?)

Dawlyn: I keep a physical shelf dedicated to my immediate TBR and use goodreads as a general TBR.

Krista: Same as Dawlyn!!

 

-If you could have a pet from any novel, what pet would you have? (DID SOMEONE SAY ABRAXOS?)

Dawlyn: Hedwig from Harry Potter of course!!

Krista: Fawkes from Harry Potter!!

 

-Who are some of your favorite authors?

Dawlyn: Sarah Dessen, JK Rowling, Markus Zusack, Angie Thomas, Jandi Nelson, Nicola Yoon

Krista: So everything Dawlyn said pluuuus Morgan Matson, Sandhya Menon, Stephanie Perkins, Erin Summerill, and I’ll just stop here because I could go on forever!

 

-Have you seen any of your favorite authors in person?

Krista and Dawlyn: YES WE MET SARAH DESSEN THIS YEAR AND JUST ABOUT DIIIIIIEEEEDD!!!

 

-How many books do you usually read in a year? (and if you answered more than 50 TEACH ME YOUR WAYS YOU WIZARD!)

Dawlyn and Krista: See number 9 under Flavia’s questions!

 

-If you could bring your fictional crush into our world, but they hate your guts, WOULD YOU DO IT!?

Dawlyn: Ummm no lol.

Krista: No way!

 

-ANNNDDDD… If you were stuck on an island with only one fictional character for help, who would you want it to be?

Dawlyn: Katniss from the Hunger Games.

Krista: i’d want to be stuck on an island with Cricket Bell from Lola and the Boy Next Door By: Stephanie Perkins. We don’t need help, we’re good!

 

 

Jenna’s Questions

 

-What’s your favourite book from your childhood?

Dawlyn: Bud, Not Buddy By: Christopher Paul Curtis

Krista: Definitely The B.F.G. By: Roald Dahl

 

-From the best of your knowledge, what is your favourite childhood memory?

Dawlyn: This is probably going to sound weird, but my favorite memories are when my mom let my little sister and I color on her feet.

Krista: When I used to live in Florida my dad and I would walk along the beach at night waiting for my mom to get off work from the beachside hotel she worked in.

 

-What was your favourite subject in school? Why?

Dawlyn: Literature and history have always been my favorite subjects. LIterature obviously because of reading, and history kind of for the same reason, but also because I’ve always loved to learn about events of the past.

Krista: I absolutely love to write! Like even research papers are fun to me, so English was always my favorite subject for that reason (and reading was definitely a plus!)

 

-If reincarnation is real, what would you like to come back as?

Dawlyn: An owl! They’re awesome!

Krista: A manatee! I belong in the water, and manatees are the cutest!

 

-Name one reason why you would want to teleport to the future? What do you think it will behold?

Dawlyn: Honestly, I don’t think I would want to teleport to the future. As much as I think about my future and the future in general, I prefer the unknown.

Krista: I would teleport to the future to read all the future books!!

 

-Who is your favourite hero/heroine in YA literature?

Dawlyn: Currently, probably Katniss from the Hunger Games.

Krista: I’m currently in the middle of reading Illuminae By: Amie Kaufman, and I am loving Kady Grant!

 

-You’ve won a million dollars; what’s the very first thing you do with the money?

Dawlyn: I know it’s cliche, but I would honestly donate to a charity that benefits children and/or education.

Krista: The first thing I would do is buy my mom a lake house.

 

-It’s movie watching time; what’s your favourite movie genre that you’re most likely going to watch? Do you have a favourite movie?

Dawlyn: Children’s movies are my favorite genre. I don’t have a favorite overall movie, but my favorite Disney movie is Mulan. What can I say, I’m a kid at heart!

Krista: I love movies! I like so many different genres. My favorite movie of all time is Tommy Boy! But Threat Level Midnight starring Michael Scarn is a close second… I mean who doesn’t love Michael Scarn?

 

-You can instantly travel to anywhere in the world; where are you travelling to? Why?

Dawlyn: FREAKING HARRY POTTER WORLD BECAUSE IT’S HARRY POTTER WORLD AND I’VE NEVER BEEN! *cries*.

Krista: Italy! Italy! Italy!!!!

 

-You find a genie (with no restrictions) and are the lucky one to have three of your wishes granted; what are they?

Dawlyn: Have dinner with Shonda Rhimes, write on one of Shonda’s shows, have a world accessible to people with disabilities.

Krista: I would wish to be able to travel wherever I want whenever I want, for an unlimited gift card that never expires to a bookstore, and world peace!

 

-What book series or standalone novel would you recommend/do recommend to anyone? Why?

Dawlyn: Harry Potter because, WHY HAVEN’T YOU READ THAT YET???

Krista: The Hate U Give By: Angie Thomas. I truly think everyone should read this book!! It’s wonderful, it’s important, READ IT!!

 

Melanie’s Questions

-What is your biggest bookish pet peeve?

Krista: Lending a book to someone and never seeing it again! The horror!!

Dawlyn: Same!

 

-What’s one non-bookish fact your readers don’t know about you?

Dawlyn: I was a chorus nerd all throughout grade school.

Krista: I’m a college senior majoring in Public Policy!

 

-What’s your favorite hobby besides reading?

Dawlyn: Watching shows and movies

Krista: Painting

 

-Have you ever watched a movie/tv adaptation that was better than the book?

Dawlyn: Yes! I thought The Notebook was better than the movie.

Krista: I absolutely love the book Thirteen Reasons Why By: Jay Asher, however, I loved the Netflix TV show adaptation even more because of how they were able to go into the other characters stories and bring up more important topics that need to be talked about more.

 

-What one book do you absolutely love that’s out of your normal reading genres?

Dawlyn: The Diary of Anne Frank. I don’t read very much non-fiction.

Krista: Illuminae By: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristof. I do not read a lot of Sci/fi, but I just finished this book and it is SO AMAZING! I love this book! And definitely want to finish the series, as well as read more in the genre!

 

-If you got to pick which apocalypse you had to face, which type of apocalypse would you choose? (zombie, nuclear, etc.)

Dawlyn: Zombie!

Krista: Definitely zombies!! My boyfriend and I are slightly obsessed with preparing for a zombie apocalypse.

 

-If you had a familiar, what animal would your familiar be?

Dawlyn: Not sure what this means

Krista: I don’t know what this means… But my favorite animal is a manatee!!

 

-How big is your TBR?

Dawlyn: Over 600 books

Krista: Over 400 books

 

-If you were in a story, would you be the villain or the hero?

Dawlyn: I’d be a villan if I could have my own backstory!

Krista: I think it would be really cool to be an anti hero like Deadpool or The Punisher (not good or bad, but more good than bad)

 

-What was your favorite childhood TV show?

Dawlyn: Spongebob Squarepants

Krista: Boy Meets World

 

-What one aesthetic would you say is representative of who you are? (floral, dark, bright, lace, boho, etc.)

Dawlyn: Mmm a tie between floral and boho

Krista: I’m gonna go with boho because it kind of gives me beach vibes and I’m from the beach, I love the beach, and I want to be a mermaids like really really bad!

 

 

Dawly & Krista’s Questions

  1. What’s the most unique/original book you’ve ever read?
  2. What is your favorite post you’ve ever written on your blog?
  3. What characters from completely different stories do you think would make a good couple or would be great best friends?
  4. What stand alone would you be happy to read a sequel of?
  5. What book character do you relate to the most?
  6. What book would you want to see an adaptation of?
  7. If you were to write a book, what genre would it be?
  8. If you could ask your favorite author one question, what would it be?
  9. What’s your dream job?
  10. Where is your favorite place to read?
  11. What’s a not so popular book that you think deserves more love?

 

We Nominate:

Charlotte Annelise

Ashleigh Reads

What the Log Had to Say

We’ve seen sooo many people nominated for this so we just picked a few!

 

Thanks for taking the time out to read our post! We’re so thankful for all of the support that we’ve been getting from the blogging community, and we’re excited to continue on this journey!

26 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Add yours

  1. Great answers ladies. If I won a million dollars the first thing I’d do is pay off my student loan debt. Oh, and if I could pick the apocalypse I had to face it would be a digital apocalypse; I feel like sometimes we as a society have become a bit too dependent on technology, which while nice for connectivity at times, it also has disconnected us on a face-to-face level. Finally, when it comes to how many books I read in a year, the past couple years it has been about 100-130ish; so far this year I have read 64 books.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The only reason I read a lot in college was because I was pursuing a degree in literature, and then during my post-grad program I only had classes one day a week, so there was plenty of time to read.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the post (sorry for all the super random questions 😂) Krista ACOTAR and Illuminae are GREAT books! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! It’s cool that you’re both Hufflepuffs! Us Hufflepuffs will one day take over the world 😂 Dawlyn, I hope your dragon enjoys shopping with you! I would be like Krista and fly with it (maybe also use it to burn down the houses of my enemies… but only if they do something really bad) Your answers for what fictional pet you would have are PERFECT! I also want Hedwig and Fawkes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Krista: You are probably the only person in the whole world who likes Lemonheads the best, lol. Good job being one of a kind!

    Dawlyn: I am with you on Harry Potter World. I NEED TO GO!!!! If you want to hear the saddest story in the history of the world about how I almost got to go and then didn’t (also sad for other reasons) I would maybe be willing to oblige.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading this made my day! Both of your answers were brilliant and more than half made me laugh so hard I had to pause reading! I think it’s great you two blog together…it’s wonderful! The Harry Potter love in this post…you two are amazing! Love Harry Potter (Hedwig is amazing). It was also nice to see that I’m not the only book blogger who has NOT set their Goodreads Challenge to…oh, I don’t know…200! I was so ashamed to call myself a book reader and blogger, seeing how some people read 10 books a week and also do an insane number of posts! But I’m still trying. Anyways, you two deserve all these nominations; you’re blog is wonderful and you two always have such a vibrant atmosphere here.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ugh. Lame internet! Why you no give better answers?! RAWR!

        So, in my experience, a witch has a familiar. It is an animal companion that like… helps them and stuff. They often take the form of cats (hence why witches got black cats), but I think I’d pick a monkey. I’d need an animal as crazy as I am. :p

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

