July Wrap-Up

Hey bookworms! Welcome to our July Wrap-Up! Between the two of us, we’ve read 7.5 books this month! Let’s get started!

 

Dawlyn

Bossypants

Bossypants By: Tina Fey

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

I loved this book! It was hilarious, relatable, and I actually learned a few things! Among other things, she talked a lot about what it’s like to run and write a TV show and I was glad to get a little bit of insight on that because it’s something I’m interested in. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who is interested in learning about TIna Fey, or look for a nonfiction book. I would also recommend that you read the audiobook because Tina narrates it herself and that made it all the more hilarious.

 

Year of Yes

Year of Yes By: Shonda Rhimes

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

Ok so I’m pretty much always raving about anything Shonda Rhimes does, and this book is no exception! Shonda is officially my spirit animal! She reminds me so much of myself in a lot of different ways. She’s also genuinely funny, which was a pleasant surprise.  I learned so much about her and the work that she does, and her experiences are so inspiring. Just like in Tina’s book, I was able to get some insight about what it’s like to run and write TV shows. I would recommend this book in the same capacity as Bossypants. This one is also worth reading via audiobook, as Shonda also narrates it herself.

 

Unexpected Everything

The Unexpected Everything By: Morgan Matson

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

No surprise here, but I absolutely loved this book! I loved Matson’s book, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, so I expected nothing less from this. It was such a cute YA contemporary, but it deals with many issues such as love, heartbreak, family, and friendship.  Even though it’s pretty big, I flew through it! I would recommend this to anyone who loves or is looking for a good YA contemporary read!

dorothy

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Rating: 4/5 Doughnuts

Ok so it took me soooo long to finally finish this book but in the end I really enjoyed it! It was pretty slow going for a while there, but once it finally picked up, I was hooked! This is such a great Wizard of Oz retelling with an interestingly dark twist. I can’t wait to continue on with the series and I would recommend it to anyone interested in retellings!

 

Krista

When Dimple Met Rishi By: Sandhya Menon

dimple

Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts

89e6d-52bdoughnuts

I love this book! It is the perfect book if you are in the mood for a sweet, quick, diverse contemporary novel! I absolutely love the characters! I love that I got to learn more about Indian culture! I also really loved where the characters were at in this book, meaning, being at a summer camp right before they head off to college. It was just really fun and sweet!!

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House By: Stephanie Perkins

img_0830

Rating: TBD

This is my most anticipated book of the year, and thanks to the wonderful Dani from MOUSAIBOOKS I got to read a partial ARC of it this month. I cannot rate the book yet since it was not the entire book, however I did enjoy the partial ARC! It definitely is reminiscent of the Scream movies. I’m so glad that I got to read the majority of this book, and will definitely be picking it up when it comes out so I can finish it!

 

Illuminae By: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts


THIS BOOK RIGHT HERE!!!!!!!! This is one of my favorite reads so far this year! This book blew me away! Every single time I thought the craziest thing just happened, crazier things proceeded to happen. I found myself screaming out loud during this book. It is amazing! I cannot wait to read Gemina!

 

By Your Side By: Kasie West


Rating: 5/5 Doughnuts


This book is so sweet! I’ve always heard great things about Kasie West, and am so excited I finally picked up one of her books! I absolutely adore this book. It even made me realize some things about myself, and I found it very comforting. This is also a really great, quick, sweet contemporary that will give you all the feels!

 

Stay tuned to for our August TBR to find out what we plan to read this month! Also, feel free to check out our Summer TBR, here!

 

Thanks for taking the time out to read our post! We’d love to know if you’ve read any of these books and how you liked them! We’d also love to hear what you read in July! Sound off in the comments!


D&K

7 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up

Add yours

  1. I felt the same way with The Unexpected Everything. You fly through it so quickly that you basically forget that it’s like a 500+ page novel. It was so cute.

    I’m glad you ladies had a good month of reading and I look forward to seeing your August TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

