Calendar Girls Books: Best Historical Fiction

 

Hey Bookworms! Welcome to our August Calendar Girls Books discussion! In case you don’t know what this is, it is an event that takes place on the first Wednesday of every month. Each month, the creators chose a theme and you pick a book that fits this theme! This event is hosted by, Flavia @Flavia the Bibliophile  and Melanie @MNBernard Books. Head over to their blogs to find out more! We’re so excited to be participating in this discussion! This month’s theme is: Best Historical Fiction. Let’s get started!

 

Dawlyn: I’m personally really excited about this theme because Historical Fiction is my all time favorite genre! I fell in love with it when my teacher read Bud, Not Buddy By: Christopher Paul Curtis to our first grade class, and it quickly became one of my favorite books of my childhood.

 

Krista: I have not read that much historical fiction myself. However, I am very excited for this month’s theme because I recently read the book we chose to talk about below, and it is now my all time favorite book! It definitely made me want to pick up more historical fiction, and I will be doing so in the near future!!

 

Our pick for this month’s theme is,The Book Thief  by Markus Zusack.

The Book Thief

 

This book is not only a 5 star rating for us both, but it is also one of our favorite books! We won’t go into much detail here because we recently wrote a Spoiler Free Review and a Spoilery Discussion for this book which you can find here and here. If you haven’t read this book, we definitely recommend it. It is a beautiful novel that you can enjoy whether you are new to the historical fiction genre, or you’ve been reading it for a while.

 

Thanks so much for taking the time out to read our post! We’re so happy to be participating in the Calendar GIrls event and we look forward to hearing from others who are participating in it as well. Let us know if you’ve read this book and feel free to share links to your August Calendar Girls post!!


11 thoughts on “Calendar Girls Books: Best Historical Fiction

Add yours

  1. I need to read more actual Historical Fiction reads…most of mine tend to be Historical Fantasy or Historical Paranormal. But I have to say that I rather enjoyed reading Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire, both by Elizabeth Wein.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Off the top of my head, I will suggest The Gold Seer Trilogy by Rae Carson, London Steampunk series by Bec McMaster, and Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Enjoy. I should also point out that the London Steampunk series is technically Paranormal Romance set in a historical setting.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve picked up and put down the book thief twice now, I’ve managed to get to the 20th page and I don’t know exactly why I keep putting it down. It could be because it’s a pretty intimidating book to me, and the fact that everyone says it’s really sad makes me pretty apprehensive about reading it. I’m going to take this post as a sign that I should pick it up again and actually finish it this time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dawlyn: I picked it up and put it down years ago but i’m so glad i picked it up again this year! It took Krista and I both a while to finish it but i think it’s because it’s just not a book to speed through! It’s not slow going it’s just one of those books that i feel is meant to be savored and so it just naturally takes some time. I haven’t heard of anyone saying they finished it quickly, but nonetheless, it’s amazing and so worth the read!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑